About Strasburg Borough

The local government of Strasburg Borough is made up of a seven-member Borough Council that meets on the second Tuesday of every month at 7:30 P.M. Each Council member is elected to a four-year term. The elections are held in the odd years with the members taking their position in the even years, replacing three or four members at two-year increments.  The Strasburg Borough Office is open Monday-Friday from 7:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. and closed on the following holidays:  New Years’ Day, President’s Day, Good Friday, Memorial Day, 4th of July, Labor Day, Thanksgiving, the day after Thanksgiving, Christmas Eve and Christmas Day.

  • The Mayor is elected in the year that three Council members are elected, and also serves a four-year term. The Pennsylvania Borough Code, which regulates Boroughs in the state of Pennsylvania, states that the Mayor is responsible for public safety.

  • The Borough Manager, appointed by the Borough Council, runs the day-to-day business of the Borough.

  • The Public Works Department is responsible for roadways and the operation of the public water and sewer system.

  • The Police Department maintains 24-hour per day, 7 days a week coverage to the Borough of Strasburg, and answers to the Mayor and Council.

  • Strasburg Borough is located in the 100th Legislative District and divided into 2 voting wards:

      1. 1st Ward: Votes at the First Presbyterian Church, 101 South Decatur Street

      2. 3rd Ward: Votes at the new Strasburg Fire Department, 203 Franklin Street

If you have a question on which ward you are in, please contact the Borough Office at 687-7732 or it is listed on your voter registration card. A voting districts map can be accessed by clicking here.

Strasburg Borough has a population of 2,800
(2000 US Census Data)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email